ACM SIGPLAN 2001 Conference on

Programming Language Design and Implementation (PLDI)


Snowbird, Utah June 20 - 22, 2001

Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN in cooperation with ACM SIGSOFT




PLDI is a forum where researchers, developers, educators, and practitioners can exchange information on the latest practical and experimental work in the design and implementation of programming languages. The PLDI conference seeks original research papers that focus on practical issues in the design, development, implementation and use of programming languages. Emphasis is placed on novel language designs, innovative and creative approaches to compile-time and run-time technology, and results from experimental studies of actual implementations.

Papers are solicited on, but not limited to, these topics:

  • design and processing of special-purpose languages, e.g., query, command, and domain-specific
  • program optimizations and transformations


  • implementations of language features
  • interactions between compilers and architectures
  • language support for security and safety
  • software support tools
  • compiler construction
  • storage management techniques
  • program representations
  • techniques for embedded and mobile code
  • program analysis
  • compilation for distributed, heterogeneous systems
  • dynamic compilation and optimization techniques
  • languages and compilers for parallel computing

Prospective authors should submit a paper through the PLDI web site by Thursday, November 16, 2000 at 11:59 PM EST. In keeping with the convention established in the last few years, the deadline is firm and no extensions will be given. The paper is restricted to 10 pages using the ACM format. Templates for ACM format are available for Word Perfect, Microsoft Word and Latex and are located at You can also use the ACM "old Latex format" which can be found at Web-based electronic submission is required. Submissions should be in PDF (preferably) or Postscript that is interpretable by Ghostscript and printable on US Letter and A4 sized paper. Those individuals for which these requirements are a hardship should contact the program chair. Papers that exceed the length requirement or are late will be rejected by the program chair. Papers already being reviewed by another conference are not eligible; if a closely related paper has been submitted to a journal, the authors must notify the program chair. The program committee will evaluate the technical contribution of each submission as well as its general accessibility to the PLDI audience. Papers will be judged on significance, originality, relevance, correctness, and clarity. The paper must be organized so that it is easily understood by an audience with varied expertise. The paper should clearly identify what has been accomplished, why it is significant, and how it compares with previous work. Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by February 2, 2001 . Full versions of accepted papers must be formatted to ACM conventions. A camera-ready copy and an electronic version must be received by ACM no later than April 9, 200. Authors of accepted papers must sign a copyright release form. Proceedings will be distributed at the conference and will appear as an issue of SIGPLAN Notices. Papers published in the proceedings are eligible for publication in refereed ACM publications at the discretion of the editors.

Proposals for co-locating workshops to be held before and after the conference are also solicited; prospective workshop organizers should contact the general chair.

General Chair

Michael Burke

IBM T.J. Watson Research Labs

Program Chair

Mary Lou Soffa

University of Pittsburgh


Program Committee

Vikram Adve, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Evelyn Duesterwald, Hewlett-Packard Laboratories

Christine Eisenbeis, INRIA Rocquencourt

Kathleen Fisher, AT&T Labs

Cormac Flanagan, Compaq Systems Research

Wilson Hsieh, University of Utah

Paul Hudak, Yale University

Roy Ju, Intel Corp

George Necula, University of California, Berkeley

Santosh Pande, Georgia Tech

Keshav Pingali, Cornel University

Andreas Podelski, Max Planck Institute, Saarbruecken 

William Pugh, University of Maryland

Erik Ruf, Microsoft Research

V.C. Sreedhar, IBM T.J. Watson Research Lab

David Whalley, Florida State University